Lazy Day

I was sitting out on the terrace sipping a cup of white tea and I thought what the heck am I doing out here when I could write!  If only I could disconnect the laptop and find the battery so I could write outdoors in the sunshine.

Today I hurt. I woke up this morning with pain that I will describe as one of the “joys” of being a woman. I could take prescription pills, but they are super strong and hurt if I don’t have enough food in my stomach for the rest of the day. Last month I took an ibuprofen but it did nothing. So I wallow.

European women, okay Spanish women, don’t mind to talk about their cycles in public (yeah, girls AND guys). I was left speechless when a friend of Juan’s was complaining about her period in front of a large group of friends. The guys in the group didn’t care, they offered condolences and the conversation continued.

So, this post is the most public I have come to discussing issues I normally reserve for girlfriends. Why shouldn’t it be normal? Is it secret that most women, mothers, sisters, daughters and friends have regular periods?

I am back from Madrid. Whew, I need a rest! KIDDING, I could go on forever. If Juanito said he had to move to that amazing city for whatever reason I would be packed in a flash. (those who know me understand that this sentence could be true even if he replaced Madrid with Kuala Lampur, Rio de Janiero, or Istanbul)

I love big cities. I love sharing a sidewalk with thousands of other people. I love seeing buskers. I love shopping. I love eating out at all the great restaurants. The entertainment options are never ending from theater to Broadway musicals, world renowned museums and live events galore. Maybe someday …
I am very happy in the village on the ocean we live in now. It is small, friendly and you couldn’t ask for better weather. But I think I would go nuts if we lived here forever.  Real Estate prices are crazy, I would prefer to make a similar investment in a city with all the things mentioned above. The three star hotel which is just across the road closes down from the beginning of November to February!

So my plan for today is to download the pictures from my cell phone to the computer of Madrid, do some writing work, make an interesting lunch with what we have (since I haven’t gone to the bank) and do it all from the comfort of sweatpants and un-brushed hair!

6 thoughts on “Lazy Day

  1. Well, I’ll be! Lindsay M all grown up! I enjoyed reading your story. You probably don’t remember me (I was a senior), but the last time I saw you (and your brother Ryan) was 16 years ago when we went to school at LCA. You were a cute little kid…and kinda shy. 🙂 Time sure flies…

    Nice to see you married and living a wonderful life abroad. I hope you’re having a blast!

    So, get an extension cord, drag that laptop outside, and enjoy the heat. It’s -8 here in Ottawa…so you might as well rub it in 🙂

    Hope you feel better soon…

    Andre R

  2. LOL That’s hilarious! I’m such a moron. I do remember now 🙂 I guess I just blanked out that part of my life …maybe I should get checked for Alzheimer’s…

    Funny thing is I have this box with a bunch of old pictures (pre-digital camera), and I was looking through them not to long ago, and there are a few of you in there…

    I think I saw your email addy on Lori’s blog, so I’ll find it and send them to you! I’m sure Juan will love them! 😉

    Yeah, I was engaged back then (1998ish?). Also part of my blanked out life!

    I’m married to my perfect match now, my best friend and a woman I love and adore (that sounds like 3 different people LOL)…we met and married while living in The Bahamas in 2001. Sorta reminds me of what I’ve read here of you and Juan…feels like living a fairytale sometimes eh? My wife and I sure have had a crazy-fun 5 years! We’re working on our 8th home in 5 years!

    We’ve been back in Ottawa for a while, and have relatively settled down now. So I find your blog very interesting…sometimes I do miss being away from Canada…so I’m living vicariously through your story. 🙂

    I have a 3 year old princess. Last night I was tucking her in, and she said “Daddy I want to go to Heaven”. So I told her, well ok, but not right now. So she says “Ok…what about Halifax then?”. Heehee

    Andre R

  3. Lindsay,
    Ya get the whole period thing. I just had the worst week of PMS. Like 5 days of it. I kept saying to Jason I am going to get my period any day now, but I just kept getting grumpier and grumpier. I think I am getting payback for ot having my period for 7 years. Yes that is right I was pregnant and or nursing for almost 7 years. My cramps are violent and my flow is so heavy. Aren’t you glad you asked. well I know that you didn’t really ask but now everyone who reads your blog and reads the comments are going to know exactly what I am going through on a monthly basis. I guess they can exercise the right not to read if they are getting sicked out.
    Love ya Lindsay Moreno – Girl power HE HE – Whatever!

  4. Lori, I feel for you!
    I like those heat patch things you can get, they really help soothing the pain! Just thought I would let you know there are a few more options since you have been out of the game for a while!

    Here’s hoping you will get a break after the first few.

  5. Andre, I don’t think I have any pictures of me during that part of my life. They would be neat to see if you could send a few along.
    I am glad you found your happiness! By the way, Halifax isn’t such a bad place either. But take it from me, if you want heaven on earth you have to cross the causeway onto Cape Breton Island.Take your girls there, you won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

