January 12, 2004

Not too long ago I wrote a post on a blog of someone I knew long ago! I wrote about our engagement in ’04. I thought I would share it on my blog too (ammended ever slightly). The original blog post was about engagement dreams of young girls. I think dreams are great but have since learned that real life can be so much better.

Juan took me skiing to Granada for my surprise Christmas present. After the mountain we went down to the village and ate dinner. That evening after a long walk down the most European romantic streets you have ever seen he told me to close my eyes. He led me up a hill and sat me down on a bench and then said I could open my eyes. In front, was the most amazing starlit view of the Alahambra (a moorish castle) and behind us was a little white church. That evening he told me that he would love me forever. That is not all he wanted to utter though.

A few weeks earlier we were wandering down medina streets in Morocco. Out of the blue he asked that “if” I were to get engaged what type of ring would I want and if the guy would have to ask with it in his hand. I was shocked that he would even dare to ask those simple questions. It would have to be a diamond and of course to propose there needed to be a ring!

Juan wanted to ask me to marry him that night in Granada as he planned, but the ring had to be resized. Because of the set ideas I had in my head, and then shared with him, I look back now and think of how I wrecked that moment for us.

Instead, he asked me on our one year anniversary of dating, in a Mexican restaurant. It was an amazing moment, started by taking me back to Granada with the promise to love me forever. It was obviously a very special time in our lives – but imagine what it would have been like underneath the stars, on top of a hill looking at a beautiful castle.

When you meet a man who steals your heart the important details all float away!

Engagement

Babe – I will always love YOU! Happy Engagement Anniversary!

2 thoughts on “January 12, 2004

  1. It’s nice to have you back, Lindsay. This story of yours brought tears to my eyes (well, they watered). I know exactly what you mean. I think many women have those “set ideas”. I did as well. But like you said, when you meet a man who steals your heart, all of those little details that once seemed so important just don’t matter anymore.
    Wow, what a really nice post that was.

    You and Juan make a beautiful couple – it’s so nice to see you so happy and with someone who loves you so much.

    Love,
    Trace

  2. Lindsay,

    I am so happy that you have found your soul mate. Juan seems to be a very romantic and wonderful person, good catch!!!

    I hope and pray that (hopefully sooner rather than later) i can blog about how my set ideas were wrong about getting engaged. You’re totally right, as long as you find the right guy it shouldn’t make that much of a difference on how things are done and said, no matter what it’ll be special.

Leave a Reply

