reflections and perceptions

I have driven in Paris, lived in Africa and danced in a bar show.I have to say that I really enjoy all the unplanned adventures that I have had in my life. When I would go to a job interview in Canada I would whince when they asked what my plans for the future were. There was no way I could ramble off my devotion to a company when I wasn’t sure I would be living on the same continent in a few years time! I am not a planner by nature. I plan dinner five minutes before I make it.

For the past seven years I have looked back on each year as it has gone by and thought “wow, I never thought I would be where I am now,  last year.” I probably would have laughed if someone would have told me my future. This thrills me because I can only hope for more new and exciting things to happen in my life.

I also try not to put expectations on things. When I arrived in Morocco I had no idea what it would be like. The plane I departed Canada on was taking me to Europe, a place I had always dreamed about travelling, but still I had no clue what downtown Málaga would behold (nor where I would sleep that night). I prefer to experience these adventures as they come to me – so as not to be heartbroken later.

This post is too self-centered though.  Make me feel better – tell me about your dreams of adventure andthe surprising turns life has taken you. I want to read about other peoples thoughts on the same subject.

4 thoughts on “reflections and perceptions

  1. Hey Lindsay,

    i loved this post, it wasn’t self-centered at all. I have to say that it made me think about my own life. Although i’m still extremely young, i have done so much already: i’ve lived on my own 9 hours away from home, i’ve backpacked through Europe with NO plans (i also have driven in many European countries- NEVER again! i got into a huge car accident this summer in Portugal…), i’ve gone to 2 universities, i’ve had 2 government jobs, i’ve almost gotten engaged, i’ve travelled all over north and central america, i’ve been on a few tv shows, i’ve worked in a bar… Like you, i often have moments where i look bad at things i’ve done and seen, and i can’t believe where i am today…

    I believe it is better to not make life plans, they only disappoint you in the end. I figure what happens happens, i leave it up to God. I used to plan my life right up until i was a grandmother, but now i plan on what God wants me to do, not what Steph wants.

    Some dreams that i would like to accomplish, is travelling to every continent (especially Africa and Australia), write a book, become a leader in the church, be a missionary, as well as the typical get married and have a family.

    Anyways, i thought that was an awesome post, have a nice day Lindsay!

  2. I am really amazed at where life can bring a person! So far it has been great, for both of us Steph ;).

    I imagine that as easy as life can change for the good it can also make changes that are bad, or that we don’t fully understand at the time. Don’t mind me it is late and I must be a little melancolic.

    Steph, reading your blog has been a treat for me. Some of what you write could have easily been taken out of a journal I wrote just a few years ago. I see so many things that I went through! Truth be told, I too am impressed with what you have accomplished in such a short time! I remember you and your little sister sitting across the aisle from my family at church! I really like getting to know you again like this! Take Care

  3. Forgot to add:
    I have always heard that Portugal is one of the worst countries in Europe to drive in. I hope that your accident wasn’t too major!

  4. Ok some cool things I have done in my life are…

    Cuddling little Claudia to sleep in a Bario in the DR…

    Jarabocoah was pretty cool too – climbed the mountian…

    Wrestling you to the ground – ok I know you farted and were embarassed but I still beat you…

    teaching a dyslexic boy to read…

    Giving birth…

    Being kissed by Martin Smith…

    Being Ordained…

    And the list goes on…

    I am imspired to dream huge dreams, my dreams now are so big there is a risk that they may not even come true…

    Keep dreaming…

Leave a Reply

