Spain is good for my ego

It was five years ago that an old Spanish man made me blush.

Fresh off the boat from Morocco, with only a weekend, I decided my first ‘Spanish’ experience should be in Granada. Wandering around one morning I crossed paths with an older gentleman who was carrying a box of vegetables. He said “Guapa” as I walked by. Even with the embarrasing little amount of Spanish I knew that meant beautiful.

Unlike other countries I have been in, calling someone ‘guapa’ isn’t really an attempt to pick-up. It could even be used as a ‘hey you’ in English.  At that moment though I couldn’t help but smile.

The word still hasn’t lost it’s charm, five years after.

Leave a Reply

