how to lose friends and alienate people

I’ve learned a lot since becoming pregnant. Never again will I become one of those people who ask mundane questions to pregnant ladies. I was ignorant before, but now I have seen the light. I will scream at the next person who asks me how I feel. Let’s get a few things straight:

1) You are standing right in front of me. Maybe I forgot to put on concealer today, but do I look that bad? Really?

2) As a wise friend just told me, ‘Pregnancy is not a debilitating disease. It’s natural! Women survive it everyday and go on to do it again.’ She’s 100% right.

3) Do you want to hear how uncomfortable it is to sleep on only your sides with a pillow stuck between your legs? Or how many times I have to get up to pee at night? What about how difficult it is getting to put on boots? Or how I don’t like how big my butt is getting? That’s right, I didn’t think so. So next time please just don’t ask. Feel free to help me out of a chair if I look like I am struggling though ;).

And now this brings up another pet peeve of mine related to pregnancy. This post I found online sums up my feelings exactly. Perhaps it’s a cultural thing, but I personally don’t think it’s a good thing to let the cat out of the bag too early. I am really glad I waited a few months to tell people I was pregnant because this is the second question that shoots out of people’s mouths every time I see them (# 1 see above). After only two months of letting people know it’s getting hard to really hard to say that there’s still lot’s of time left before the due date, our minds change daily and I don’t need/want your opinion on the name I choose to inflict upon my offspring.

Man, I am one opinionated pregnant lady! Sorry

kakiOn a happy note these have shown up in our local supermarket. Christmas really is coming. I pay 1.50€ for two, but I think they are worth every euro cent. This ration of fruit lasts me about two days. Can’t get enough. By the way, I am talking about the persimmon/kaki, although I love me a good pomegranate too!

 

 

Reyes is sitting here with me while I type and I am not happy to report that she is snoring! SNORING!!! She did NOT learn this from me. Autumn Beauty

2 thoughts on “how to lose friends and alienate people

  1. Persimmons – thanks to you we just tried them this weekend. Yum yum! And I did some reading on them – they could be even better for the heart than apples! How about that?

Leave a Reply

