home improvement

So for a year now J and I have owned our own home! After all the rentals we have lived in (and loved) around the world, it is nice to be able to walk into a room and say, “I don’t like this paint colour/knob/light fixture. I’m going to change it.” Sometimes this is more than necessary, as in the case of what used to be known as the dreaded Green Room. It made guests gasp! It was one of the first changes we made by ourselves. It went from this:

to this:

J will admit that he has become quite complacent with our home. We are lucky, apart from the roof there aren’t many repairs that we have had to do. So in fact, the painting above was done 10% by me. I wish to make our house not only liveable, but really comfortable to be in.

Last night J was able to help me tackle some things on my list and so far I love the way these very small improvements make me feel.

First, we hung the pot rack that we bought months ago.

Doesn’t it look great? It is actually a dream come true as I have wanted one in my kitchen for as long as I can remember. When we finally got our house we wandered through Ikea looking for one only to find out they had discontinued all their models! Luckily I found one on Kijiji.

Then we hung the shelving unit I found yesterday. When I bought it I didn’t even know where it would go or if I should spray paint it. I just loved the style. I wasn’t sure J would, but he did and was even the one to suggest where it would live in our home. It now hangs over our dining table, holding essentials like napkins and the salt and pepper shakers.

 

The next thing we tackled was a small reading corner for our son’s room. His books have always been scattered all over the house and this gives them a neat place where he can reach them and store them himself. I know I got the idea for using rain gutter shelving from some blog for kids books, unfortunately I don’t remember which one. Anyway, we love it!

Yes, you read right, I did say son and that is purple paint you are looking at. We still have a lot of stuff to do!

Leave a Reply

